let’s call it an anthem

I am the type of person who is deeply impacted by music. It moves me to my core. When I worship, it’s through music. If I need a good cry, I listen to music. If I’m in a great mood, I roll windows down and crank up the tunes. I feel like music creates a special ambiance for the day to day and it can so impact my mood and spirit.

When I heard “I Will Wait” by Mumford & Sons, it was a song that I immediately knew would be important to me over the coming months. Specifically, the following lines are the ones which most moved me upon first listen:

“And I came home
Like a stone
And I fell heavy into your arms
These days of dust
Which we’ve known
Will blow away with this new sun”

“And I will wait, I will wait for you”

“So I’ll be bold
As well as strong
And use my head alongside my heart”

“Raise my hands
Paint my spirit gold
And bow my head
Keep my heart slow”

I have a feeling I will be listening to this one on repeat on those tough days as well as the days when I’m feeling especially tough :) I look forward to jamming out to this song with Abram and Grady once we are reunited as well! “These days of dust which we’ve known will blow away with this new sun.” I’m so looking forward to the rising of that sun.

3 thoughts on “let’s call it an anthem

    • While it may not be written for our specific situation, I think it is a great and uplifting song for folks dealing with a lengthy separation, military or otherwise :)

Leave a Reply

