and so it begins

Yesterday morning, Grady, Abram and I made the trek up to Stout Field to drop off Abe and his duffel bags. The drive up was pleasant. Grady was happy in the backseat, despite the early wake up, while Abe and I chatted and sipped our coffee for the duration of the drive. Once we made it to our destination, I felt the familiar tug of my heart-strings. Abe held Grady as we walked around looking at the “biiiig frucks!” (as Grady calls them), attempting to stave off the impending goodbyes.

This process is never made easier, despite frequency, despite time. The moment you watch your partner saying goodbye to your child… heartrending. The moment you share the last kiss you’ll share for a while with the one you love… unbearable. These are such bittersweet memories we are making.

We were able to chat via Skype as a family last night and, already, it was so nice to see Abram’s face. He is quite handsome, after all ;) I was unable to hold back the tears as yesterday had been particularly challenging so instead of attempting to choke out a conversation, I watched silently as the tears rolled down my cheeks while Abe and Grady had a little conversation. After saying goodnight, the loneliness was overwhelming so I snuggled up with G and fell asleep while missing Abram.

So the journey has finally begun and I can say without hesitation that this is not going to be easy.

Fortunately, we have so many people out there supporting us through prayer, good vibes, offers to help, etc. I love our little community so very much. I know once we establish our new routine that the months will fly by and Abram will be home with us, where he belongs, before we know it. The knowledge of how fleeting time can be is a great comfort.

3 thoughts on “and so it begins

  1. One of my closest girlfriends out here is a single mother. Every four months Steve her husband comes home for two weeks. He is a contracted electrician in Afghanistan. My thoughts and prayers go out to you.

Leave a Reply

